Religion is an Opinion

According to Merriam-Webster Dictionary, religion is defined as an organized system of beliefs, ceremonies, and rules used to worship a god or a group of gods. To me, religion isn’t just an organized system of beliefs but a way of my everyday living, the thing I turn to when I am confused and need answers, and most importantly, the only thing that remains constant in my life no matter what. Other people may read this and think I’m crazy, but the truth is, is I’m crazy for God.

Growing up with practicing Catholic parents and going to Catholic schools my whole life influenced how religious I wanted to be. Since my very first day of kindergarten until my very last day of high school, there were certain things that I did daily. Praying in the morning, before meals, and at the end of the day were all included in my every day schedule. It became more of a habit rather than a willing choice to participate. My school would have mass once a month, every month and on holy days of obligation that were mandatory. As a child, my mom would get my sister and me up to go to mass every Sunday. As I got older, I started not attending Sunday Mass simply because I was becoming more educated on Catechism, and developing my own opinion of the beliefs I had known my whole life. Don’t get me wrong, I still agree with most of the beliefs of the Catholic Church I have just come to interpret it differently than I was taught it. I believe I don’t have to attend mass for God to hear me or for me to receive Him, like one would in the Holy Eucharist. To me, I can talk to Him at all hours of the day and if I feel like I need Him, I know He is there through my loved ones.

“Or do you not know that the unrighteous shall not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived; neither fornicators, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor effeminate, nor homosexuals, nor thieves, nor the covetous, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor swindlers, shall inherit the kingdom of God” (1 Corinthians 6:9-10). That specific bible verse always makes my stomach churn because it contradicts so many of the other bible verses I know as well as the beliefs taught with them. That bible verse clearly states that those specific groups of people will not get to heaven.

Religion isn’t the same for everyone and should be something to different to each person. Religion is my relationship with God, not all the rules and organized beliefs that come with Catechism. Through furthering my education on it, I have realized that it can be interpreted in so many different ways, that are neither right nor wrong just a matter of opinion. No matter if I agree strongly or barely at all with the things I have been taught, I know that God is the most powerful being in the universe whom I love above all else.

Leave a comment